Lotus FM

Lotus FM

About Lotus FM:

Lotus FM (previously called Radio Lotus) is a South African national radio station based in Durban, loosely similar to the BBC Asian Network in the United Kingdom, that caters for the needs of the South African Indian community. It combines a mix of Indian music, news, current affairs, interviews and entertainment. Lotus FM targets South African Indians between the ages of 25-34 (core) and 35-49 (secondary) in the LSM 7-10 segment.

Lotus FM has occasionally been the subject of complaints, with people of South Indian descent claiming that the station’s broadcasts favour Hindi music over Tamil music.

Disc jockeys

The following is a list of DJ’s who play at the station (including weekends)

  • Alan Chetty
  • Alan Khan
  • Althaf Suleman
  • Ashit Desai
  • Avin Moorley
  • Deon Chetty
  • Diresh Sinath
  • Elvis Gangiah
  • Fahim Jamadar
  • Ganas Murugan
  • Jared Dhukki
  • Julian Lurie
  • Krishnan Nair
  • Mala Lutchmanan
  • Manick Thor
  • Nichal Sarawan
  • O’Neil Nair
  • Patrick Ngcobo
  • Pravina Maharaj
  • Raeesa Mahomed
  • Rakesh Ramdhin
  • Ray Maharaj
  • Sanjay Jayrajh
  • Sudhisha Naidoo
  • Suresh Harilal
  • Varshan Sookhun
  • Veena Lutchman
  • Vikash Mathura
  • Zakia Ahmed

The station broadcasts in FM on the following frequencies throughout South Africa.

For more information, click on the link below:
Lotus FM