CNN Style launches on TV with Sheikha Al Mayassa, Tracey Emin, Rita Ora and Lewis Hamilton

CNN Style is coming to TV screens – 15 years after the iconic Elsa Klensch was last on the network, and on the back of style being re-imagined for the digital age in 2015 with the launch of CNN.com/style.

The first 30-minute monthly CNN Style show will air on CNN International from Saturday 9   April, fronted by journalist and author Derek Blasberg.

Blasberg will bring the worlds of art, luxury, fashion, autos, architecture and design to life for CNN’s global audience. He will build on the unique legacy of style on CNN – epitomised by the iconic Elsa Klensch who defined style for viewers around the world for over 20 years.

In 2016, CNN Style will be at the definitive events in the style calendar. The launch episode focuses on the contemporary art world, set against the backdrop of Asia’s pre-eminent international art fair, Hong Kong Art Basel.

In her first major international TV interview in almost two years, the undisputed queen of the art world Sheikha Al Mayassa, sister of the Emir of Qatar and Chairman of the Qatar Museums, speaks to CNN about her role in preserving and growing the family’s extraordinary collection of art. In recent years she has made bold moves to bring some of the world’s greatest contemporary artists to Qatar. Now, she’s turning the spotlight to China – enlisting the country’s most explosive artist Cai Guo Qiang to curate an exhibition of 15 contemporary Chinese artists in the Qatar Museum Gallery al Riwaq.

From Doha to Beijing, CNN Style travels to discover the art scene in China – with painter LI SONGSONG, who emerges from the same group of trailblazers as Ai Weiwei.

The best of British art is on show in Hong Kong, with TRACEY EMIN (the Young British Artist who changed the face of contemporary art in the 90’s with her Turner Prize entry “My Bed”) opening her first exhibition in Greater China. CONRAD SHAWCROSS, British sculptor whose moving sculptures caught Saatchi’s eye in 2003, is showcasing his dancing robot “Ada Project” in an unexpected location. Pop star RITA ORA is passing through Hong Kong to collect the Chinese Music Award for best international artist – she takes a moment with Derek to discuss how Chinese culture influences her creativity and style. Over a bowl of the best local noodles, CNN Style speaks exclusively to F1 superstar LEWIS HAMILTON about his new found passion away from the track: contemporary art. CNN Style accompanies him around the fair as he looks to grow his collection.

In the coming months, CNN Style will be at New York’s Met Ball, Milan Design Week, the Venice Architecture Biennale and more.

CNN Style is on digital at CNN.com/style, with episode one of the new monthly show airing on CNN International at:

Saturday 9 April

1330 BST / 1430 CET

Sunday 10 April

0630 BST / 0730 CET

1930 BST / 2030 CET

Wednesday 13 April

1030 BST / 1130 CET

1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 16 April

0630 BST / 0730 CET

1930 BST / 2030 CET

Sunday 18 April

1330 BST / 1430 CET